Hours & Holidays


Office hours for the clerk's office are 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday – Friday, with the exception of holidays. Courthouse doors open an hour early, at 7:30 a.m., on days the court is sitting in Richmond.  See Visiting the Court.

The court's electronic case filing system is available for filing 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Counsel anticipating an after-hours emergency must contact the clerk's office during regular office hours to arrange after-hours coverage.

Office closings, including due to inclement weather, are announced on the court’s main incoming line, (804) 916-2700, and under News & Announcements on the court's home page.

2024 Holidays

Date Holiday
Monday, January 1
New Year's Day
Monday, January 15 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 19 Washington's Birthday
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Wednesday, June 19
Juneteenth National Independence Day
Thursday, July 4
Independence Day
Friday, July 5
Clerk's office closed except for emergency filings
Monday, September 2
Labor Day
Monday, October 14
Columbus Day
Monday, November 11
Veterans Day Observed
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Day
Wednesday, December 25
Christmas Day