Judges of the Court

The Fourth Circuit is authorized to have 15 active circuit judges. All of the court's judgeships are currently filled. The court is also served by two senior judges who participate in the work of the court. A listing of all Article III vacancies in the federal courts is available from www.uscourts.gov.

(select name on left menu or list below for biography)

Contact #
Commission Date
Chief Judge William B. Traxler, Jr. 804-916-2700 10/1/1998
Judge J. Harvie Wilkinson III 434-296-7063       08/13/1984
Judge Paul V. Niemeyer 410-962-4210       08/07/1990
Judge Diana Gribbon Motz 410-962-3606       06/16/1994
Judge Robert B. King 304-347-3533       10/09/1998
Judge Roger L. Gregory 804-916-2607       07/25/2001
Judge Dennis W. Shedd 803-732-8250       11/26/2002
Judge Allyson K. Duncan 804-916-2700 08/15/2003
Judge G. Steven Agee 804-916-2700 07/01/2008
Judge Barbara Milano Keenan 804-916-2700 03/09/2010
Judge James A. Wynn, Jr. 804-916-2700 08/10/2010
Judge Albert Diaz 704-333-8025 12/22/2010
Judge Henry F. Floyd 864-591-5300 10/05/2011
Judge Stephanie D. Thacker 304-347-3516 04/17/2012
Judge Pamela A. Harris 804-916-2700 07/29/2014
Senior Judge Clyde H. Hamilton 803-765-5461       07/22/1991
Senior Judge Andre M. Davis 410-962-0801       11/10/2009

Telephone: All case-related calls should be directed to the clerk’s office, at 804-916-2700. 

Mail: All case correspondence should be directed to the Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, 1100 East Main Street, Suite 501, Richmond, VA 23219. Mail to a judge is sent to the same address, for further delivery as needed.