Hours & Holidays


Office hours for the clerk's office are 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday – Friday, with the exception of holidays. The court's electronic case filing system is available for filing 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Counsel anticipating an after-hours emergency must contact the clerk's office during regular office hours to arrange after-hours coverage.

Office closings due to inclement weather are announced on the court’s main incoming line, (804) 916-2700, and under News & Announcements on the court's home page. Filing deadlines are extended to the next day the clerk’s office is open for business.

2019 Holidays

Date Holiday
Tuesday, January 1
New Year's Day
Monday, January 21 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 18 Washington's Birthday
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 2
Labor Day
Monday, October 14 Columbus Day
Monday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Day
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day

2020 Holidays

Date Holiday
Wednesday, January 1
New Year's Day
Monday, January 20 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 17 Washington's Birthday
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day
Friday, July 3
Independence Day Observed
Monday, September 7
Labor Day
Monday, October 12 Columbus Day
Wednesday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day