Educational Outreach

The Federal Court System

The U.S. Constitution & Bill of Rights

Interactive U.S. Constitution (National Constitution Center)

Bill of Rights (National Archives)

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

The Fourth Circuit is one of twelve regional appellate courts within the federal judicial system. The court hears appeals from federal district courts in Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina, and from federal administrative agencies.

Visiting the Court

Student groups planning to attend oral argument in Richmond are encouraged to contact the student coordinator at (804) 916-2715 for assistance in coordinating their visit.

Group tours of the courthouse can be scheduled by contacting the tour coordinator at (804) 916-2715.

For Teachers


2019 Fourth Circuit Essay Contest

Naturalization Ceremony

VHS Naturalization Ceremony
         (WTVR News)