News & Announcements

Fourth Circuit Announces Winners of 2018 Essay Contest

July 12, 2018
2018 Fourth Circuit Essay Contest

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit is pleased to announce the winners of its 2018 High School Essay Contest.

First Place--$2,000 Award: Jonas Lorincz, a rising sophomore at Marriotts Ridge High School, Marriottsville, Maryland. Read the First Place Essay

Second Place--$1,500 Award: Owen Peck, a graduating senior from Maggie L. Walker Governor's School, Richmond, Virginia. Read the Second Place Essay

Third Place--$1,000 Award: Rachel Sexton, a rising junior at Holston High School, Damascus, Virginia. Read the Third Place Essay

The contest, which ran from February 2, 2018, to April 15, 2018, was open to current 9th through 12th graders in Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The court received excellent essays by students from all five states.

Students were asked to share their thoughts on the question: “How has the Fourteenth Amendment impacted education in the 150 years since it was ratified and what impact will it likely have in the future?"

The essays will be read and awards presented at a court program scheduled for September 26, 2018, at 2:00 p.m. at the Lewis F. Powell, Jr. Courthouse in Richmond, Virginia. 

The court extends its appreciation to its panel of judges for their work in reviewing the essays and selecting the top three submissions: Henry L. Chambers, Jr., Austin E. Owen Research Scholar and Professor of Law, University of Richmond School of Law; Hannah Rogers Metcalfe, Partner, Metcalfe & Atkinson, LLC, and President Elect of the Federal Bar Association; Robert H. Edmunds, Jr., Of Counsel, Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP, and Chair, Appellate Judges Conference, American Bar Association; Joshua Weishart, Associate Professor of Law and Policy, West Virginia University College of Law, and 2017 West Virginia University Outstanding Teacher Award Winner; and Jody Zepp, Government Teacher, Long Reach High School, Howard County, and 2015 Maryland Teacher of the Year.

For more information about the contest, visit ​